Colorado’s new laws go into effect next Monday.

DENVER — From pet rentals to more plastic bags, big changes are coming with new laws that take effect in Colorado on Jan. 1, 2024.

We are a state full of pet lovers, many of whom are also renters.

when HB23-1068 In effect, there will be more protections for tenants with pets, including limiting the amount landlords can collect from tenants.

Additional pet deposits will be capped at $300, which must be refundable. If the landlord chooses to charge pet rent monthly, it cannot exceed $35 per month, or 1.5% of the monthly rent, whichever is greater.

That’s a relief for pet parents on a budget, but some landlords told Denver7 it could potentially create challenges for them if landlords decide not to allow pets at all. , or factoring their personal preferences into the total cost can have unintended consequences on housing availability. of rent

While many communities in the Denver metro area still exist. Temporarily ban anything other than food scraps and yard clippings from going into the compost bin.From January 1, stricter rules will be introduced to label products as ‘compostable’.

When something that is not fully compostable is in a batch of organic material intended for composting, it can contaminate the entire batch, costing composters time and money. Wastes are caused by having to send contaminated batches to landfills. an environmental effect.

when SB23-253 Fully applicable, a producer who is not compostable certified is prohibited from using words, phrases, colors or any type of labeling that would mislead the consumer into believing that it is compostable.

Particular attention is paid to products that contain plastic and labeling that indicates that the plastic will break down or biodegrade.

Also first, the next phase of Colorado’s plastic bag ban goes into effect. The next step for HB21-1162 That is, now the shops will not have plastic bags at all. They will only offer recyclable paper bags that will still cost 10 cents.

Any retail food establishment that still has Styrofoam containers can use what they have in stock, but then those containers will also be banned.

Businesses that do not comply could face fines of up to $500 for a second violation and up to $1,000 for a third and subsequent violations.


Follow up

What would you like Denver7 to follow up on? Is there a story, topic or issue you’d like us to revisit? Let us know with the contact form below.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top